Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers According to Buzzsumo – 2022 Edition

For the fourth year in a row, we’ve headed back to Buzzsumo to look at the top 100 digital marketing influencers for 2022.

You are reading: Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers According to Buzzsumo – 2022 Edition

It’s that time of year once again. The time where we dive back into Buzzsumo to look at the top 100 digital marketing influencers for 2022. What started out as a one off blog post in 2019 has now become an annual event on the Browser Media blog as we now approach the third anniversary and our 4th edition. So, without further ado, let’s take a look at what’s changed in the world of digital marketing influencers over the past 12 months. 

To get a quick overview of the influencer marketing landscape and how it has evolved over the last 12 months, we have gone back to Influencer Marketing Hub’s State of Influencer Marketing report to check out their 2022 edition. As has been the case over the past few years, influencer marketing has once again gone from strength to strength and this momentum doesn’t appear to be slowing down. Over 75% of brands expect to dedicate some sort of budget to influencer marketing in 2022, while 68% of marketers expect to increase their spend. This once again shows that influencer marketing is still a growing industry and something that all brands should be utilising. 

As a result, it’s important to identify the best influencers for brands to partner with from their desired industry. Once again I have turned to Buzzsumo’s influencer reports as this is typically my starting point when it comes to influencer research. 

How do Buzzsumo’s influencer reports work?

I’m starting to feel a bit like a broken record and I’ve explained these reports in every edition of our top 100 influencer lists, however, it’s important to understand where the data is coming from. If you want a more detailed overview of why Buzzsumo is the perfect tool for content marketers I have covered it on the blog previously. 

Buzzsumo’s influencer reports highlight the top influencers based on multiple search options; their association with a specific search term, whether their bio includes the search term, if they have tweeted articles about a search term, or whether they have tweeted articles from a specific site. For this research, I have highlighted influencers that are associated with digital marketing. This will include influencers that have used digital marketing in their bio or those who appear on relevant Twitter lists. 

These Twitter accounts are then ranked depending upon their ‘influence’ on the specific search term. Buzzsumo has previously explained that someone’s influence is measured by how much they can impact the reach of a post or article. 

The influencer report search results can be further refined depending on numerous factors such as the type of influencer (companies, bloggers, influencers), whether they are journalists or not, their level of activity, and their location.  

For these lists I only focus on bloggers and influencers, meaning all companies have been removed. Therefore, some of the big hitters such as Econsultancy, Moz, and Ahrefs aren’t included. However, that is the only way that the data is manipulated, all the data and the influencers included have been pulled directly from Buzzsumo. Neither myself or anyone else at Browser Media has influenced (pardon the pun) any of the positions. 

Key digital marketing influencer stats for 2022

  • As has been the case in all previous years, the average number of followers shows that it’s not about having the biggest audience, it’s about having the most engaged. At 83,017, the average number of followers amongst the top 100 has dropped by 7% compared to last year. Once again, I’m not saying that over 83,000 followers is a small following by any means, but the fact we see accounts with millions of followers not on this list points to the importance of having an engaged follower base. 
  • The way these influencers engage with other people’s content has changed very little over the past 12 months. The average reply ratio, retweet ratio, and URL share ratio have all seen very little change. Again, this points to the fact that not only is their own engagement important, it’s also important to consider how often influencers are engaging with the other accounts. 
  • While it doesn’t impact the state of the industry, one thing I did want to note is that Buzzsumo seems to have altered the way some influencers are listed. Neil Patel for example is now listed as a company, hence his omission from the below list. I only noticed Neil as he has been consistently in the top 3, however, it’s not unlikely that some other big influencers may have been listed as companies. For the sake of consistency, I haven’t removed these individuals, even though they aren’t companies per se as I want the data to be as impartial as possible. While large influencers missing from the list may impact the average number of followers the top 100 have, it’s unlikely that it changes the outlook on the industry.

Buzzsumo’s Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers for 2022

  1. Sorav Jain – @soravjain
  2. Rand Fishkin – @randfish
  3. Eric Enge – @stonetemple
  4. Amber Naslund – @ambercadabra
  5. Mandy Edwards – @memktgservices
  6. Barry Schwartz – @rustybrick
  7. Rahul Wadhawan – @rahul_wadhawan
  8. J.J. De la Torre – @delatorrejj
  9. Douglas Karr – @douglaskarr
  10. AJ Ghergich – @seo
  11. Amit Panchal – @amithpanchal
  12. Robert Jones – @exodusanalytics
  13. Dan Knowlton – @dknowlton1
  14. Avinash Kaushik – @avinash
  15. Janet Machuka – @janetmachuka_
  16. Warren Whitlock – @warrenwhitlock
  17. Derek Edmond – @derekedmond
  18. Ciamhie McRory – @ciamhiemc
  19. Ryan Deiss – @ryandeiss
  20. Andrew Hutchinson – @adhutchinson
  21. Bill Sebald – @billsebald
  22. Ammar Mohammed – @ammr
  23. John Lincoln – @johnelincoln
  24. Shashi Bellamkonda – @shashib
  25. Gareth O’Sullivan – @_garethg
  26. Alex Jiménez – @ralexjimenez
  27. Fadhila Brahimi – @fbrahimi
  28. Ian Schafer – @ischafer
  29. Oli Gardner – @oligardner
  30. Andrew Grill – @andrewgrill
  31. AJ Kohn – @ajkohn
  32. Marc Cortes – @marccortes
  33. Duane Forrester – @duaneforrester
  34. Jon Henshaw – @henshaw
  35. Dr. Marie Haynes – @marie_haynes
  36. Andrew Hickey – @andrewmhickey
  37. Stoney deGeyter – @stoneyd
  38. Paddy Moogan – @paddymoogan
  39. Craig Campbell – @craigcampbell03
  40. Ned James – @ned_james2
  41. Jamie Riddell – @jamieriddell
  42. Geoff Desreumaux – @geoffdx
  43. Jonathan Lacoste – @lacostejonathan
  44. Winston Binch – @winstonbinch
  45. Russ Mann – @mktgmann
  46. Herve Kabla – @hervekabla
  47. Saul Colt – @saulcolt
  48. Grant Simmons – @simmonet
  49. Atef – @atef
  50. Alex Moss – @alexmoss
  51. Dan Sodergren – @dansodergren
  52. Minter Dial – @mdial
  53. Mark Silva – @marksilva
  54. Jerry Daykin – @jdaykin
  55. Jamie Turner – @askjamieturner
  56. Brian Hart – @brianhartpr
  57. Ashwini Dodani – @ashwinidodani
  58. DTong – @dtongsports
  59. Tom Bedecarre – @tombed
  60. Tim Ash – @tim_ash
  61. Erik Huberman – @erikhuberman
  62. Justyn Howard – @justyn
  63. Tom Goodwin – @tomfgoodwin
  64. Pete Blackshaw – @pblackshaw
  65. Shama Hyder – @shama
  66. Fili Wiese – @filiwiese
  67. Glen Allsopp – @viperchill
  68. Adam Audette – @audette
  69. Cammi Pham – @cammipham
  70. Julie Joyce – @juliejoyce
  71. Ed Leake – @edleake
  72. Matthew Kobach – @mkobach
  73. Casie Gillette – @casieg
  74. Monica Wright – @monicawright
  75. Dhariana Lozano – @dharilo
  76. Leonard Kim – @mrleonardkim
  77. Nathalie Nahai – @nathalienahai
  78. Dennis Yu – @dennisyu
  79. Alex Domínguez – @alex_d_b
  80. Franz Russo – @franzrusso
  81. Shane Barker – @shane_barker
  82. Darren Rowse – @problogger
  83. Gianluca Fiorelli – @gfiorelli1
  84. Joost de Valk – @jdevalk
  85. David Iwanow – @davidiwanow
  86. Matthew Knell – @matthewknell
  87. Clo Willaerts – @bnox
  88. Jeremy Goldman – @jeremarketer
  89. Vincenzo Landino – @vincenzolandino
  90. Dave Edelman – @davidedelman
  91. Scott Gulbransen – @lvgully
  92. Stacey MacNaught – @staceycav
  93. Brent Csutoras – @brentcsutoras
  94. Henneke Duistermaat – @henneked
  95. Danny Sullivan – @dannysullivan
  96. Larry Kim – @larrykim
  97. Muhammad Hisham Abu Al-Qumboz – @abualkomboz
  98. Rebekah Radice – @rebekahradice
  99. Mark Traphagen – @marktraphagen
  100. Jim Sterne – @jimsterne

As always, congratulations to everyone who made the top 100!

** Disclaimer – Browser Media has had no influence or impact on this list, it is solely based on Buzzsumo’s influencer reports. To ensure the data remains fair and impartial there has been no alteration from any other sources. **

Latest from the blog