Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers according to BuzzSumo

Here are the top 100 digital marketing influencers that you should be following in 2019, according to BuzzSumo.

You are reading: Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers according to BuzzSumo

Influencer marketing is nothing new, people have always considered the opinions of their peers as a part of their decision making process. However, the constant rise of social media has caused brands to increase their influencer marketing efforts in recent years, with a 1500% increase in the number of Google searches for “influencer marketing” over the last three years.

The rise in popularity of all social media platforms has meant finding the right people to work with on social media can be a long and time-consuming task. Thankfully BuzzSumo’s extremely handy influencer reports make the whole process a lot easier. I’ve previously spoken about BuzzSumo on multiple occasions before and the Browser Media blog is full of love for their various tools.

What are BuzzSumo influencer reports?

BuzzSumo’s influencer tool allows you to search for topics, domains, or specific users to find the key influencers from within your industry. These individuals, or companies, are then ranked depending upon their ‘influence’ on the specific area you are searching for.

You are able to further refine your list by selecting the type of influencers you want to find (e.g. companies, bloggers, journalists etc.), selecting the locations they are from, and to ensure they are active and engage with their audience.

The influencer reports rank these users based on several factors such as the content they create and share, along with the average number of retweets they receive, and the relevancy of their content. In order words how much they are likely to affect, or influence, a piece of content’s reach.

BuzzSumo is a tool that I use on a regular basis, however, the influencer reports don’t always receive the love they deserve. Therefore, I decided to utilise BuzzSumo’s influencer reports to their full potential and take a deep look into the key influencers in the world of digital marketing.

One important thing to note when looking through the findings below is that I chose to remove any companies and focus purely on the individuals within the industry. While this does run the risk of missing out potential companies who will potentially interact with your content, it also helps to cut out the huge brands who frankly aren’t likely to notice you. For example, Google Analytics and Twitter Marketing both get cut from the list but with approximately 1 millions followers each, the likelihood of them engaging with you is slim. Additionally, in my opinion, a true ‘influencer’ is the specific individual and not the brand as a whole.

What I learnt from BuzzSumo’s influencer reports

Here are some of the key takeaways I found from spending a bit of time getting to know everything BuzzSumo’s influencers tool has to offer.

The first thing that I found interesting is the fact that BuzzSumo’s tool looks at more than just the follower count when analysing the top influencers. Obviously, following plays a big role, but the tool looks past just highlighting those with the largest following. When looking at the top 100 digital marketing influencers this stood out, as the average number of followers was approximately 65,000. Of course, this is still a significant amount compared to your average Twitter user but when the data ranges from users with over 800,000 to users with just over 3,000 it shows that it’s not all about follower count. This is a lesson that a lot of brands can learn when carrying out an influencer marketing campaign. Often people just look for the influencers with the most followers but it’s also important to look at the relationship they have with their audience and the influence they have on your specific industry. You are far more likely to see positive results from someone with an actual interest in your product or industry in comparison to just going for the biggest following.

Additionally, the influencer reports take a deep look into how individuals use Twitter to help truly understand their influence on the industry. By looking at the average number of retweets each ‘influencers’ post receives the tool helps to determine an approximate level of engagement they receive as well as estimated reach. In addition to this, the reports take a look at the percentage of each user’s tweets that are replies, retweets, and contain URLs. This further breaks down the type of content that users are sharing, whilst also helping identify potential collaboration or outreach targets. By highlighting individuals with a higher retweet ratio then you are able to understand who is more likely to potentially share a piece of content or retweet your posts.

It is impossible to create a definitive list of the top influencers for any industry as it’s relatively opinion based, and ultimately social media and influencer marketing is a constantly evolving industry. BuzzSumo’s influencer reports are the perfect tool for those who are looking to kick start their influencer marketing strategy but aren’t quite sure where to start.

Browse the full list of the top 100 digital marketing influencers, according to BuzzSumo, below:

BuzzSumo’s Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers

  1. Rand Fishkin – @randfish
  2. Brian Solis – @briansolis
  3. Dan Knowlton – @dknowlton1
  4. Eric Enge – @stonetemple
  5. J.J. De la Torre – @delatorrejj
  6. Douglas Karr – @douglaskarr
  7. Barry Schwartz – @rustybrick
  8. Sorav Jain – @soravjain
  9. AJ Ghergich – @seo
  10. Robert Jones – @exodusanalytics
  11. Ammar Mohammed – @ammr
  12. James Gurd –  @jamesgurd
  13. Bill Sebald – @billsebald
  14. Ginny Marvin – @ginnymarvin
  15. Shashi Bellamkonda – @shashib
  16. Gareth O’Sullivan – @_garethg
  17. Jeet Banerjee – @thejeetbanerjee
  18. Brian Hart – @brianhartpr
  19. Hrish Thota – @dhempe
  20. Mack Collier – @mackcollier
  21. Bonin Bough – @boughb
  22. Avinash Kaushik – @avinash
  23. Erik Huberman – @erikhuberman
  24. Casie Gillette – @casieg
  25. Gianluca Fiorelli – @gfiorelli1
  26. Mark Traphagen – @marktraphagen
  27. Derek Edmond – @derekedmond
  28. Alex Jiménez – @ralexjimenez
  29. Patrick – @denmark98
  30. Fadhila Brahimi – @fbrahimi
  31. Marc Cortes – @marccortes
  32. Ian Schafer – @ischafer
  33. Andrew Grill – @andrewgrill
  34. AJ Kohn – @ajkohn
  35. Jon Henshaw – @henshaw
  36. Greg Gifford – @greggifford
  37. Paddy Moogan – @paddymoogan
  38. Mordecai Holtz – @mordecaiholtz
  39. Tom Goodwin – @tomfgoodwin
  40. Stoney deGeyter – @stoneyd
  41. James Malone – @jmalonepr
  42. Steve Bartlett – @stevebartlettsc
  43. Randy Milanovic – @kayak360
  44. Winston Binch – @winstonbinch
  45. Michael Litman – @mlitman
  46. Jonathan Long – @long
  47. Iain Tait – @iaintait
  48. Kassy Pajarillo – @kassypajarillo
  49. Jerry Daykin – @jdaykin
  50. Mark Silva – @marksilva
  51. Gerry Moran – @gerrymoran
  52. Dave Knox – @daveknox
  53. Yann Gourvennec – @ygourven
  54. Tamar Weinberg – @tamar
  55. Rae Dolan – @sugarrae
  56. Adam Sherk – @adamsherk
  57. Elisabeth Osmeloski – @elisabethos
  58. Simo Ahava – @simoahava
  59. Chris Ducker – @chrisducker
  60. Matt McGee – @mattmcgee
  61. Lisa Myers – @lisadmyers
  62. Oli Gardner – @oligardner
  63. Frederick Vallaeys – @siliconvallaeys
  64. Mel Carson – @melcarson
  65. Maria Johnsen – @imariajohnsen
  66. Scott Galloway – @profgalloway
  67. Ross Simmonds – @thecoolestcool
  68. Martin MacDonald – @searchmartin
  69. Vanessa DiMauro – @vdimauro
  70. Brian Clark – @brianclark
  71. Ann Tran – @anntran_
  72. John Mueller – @johnmu
  73. Manuel Diaz – @manueldiaz
  74. Tamara McCleary – @tamaramccleary
  75. Alex Moss – @alexmoss
  76. Minter Dial – @mdial
  77. Brandon Berger – @brandonberger
  78. Nate Dame – @seonate
  79. David Griner – @griner
  80. Graham Charlton – @gcharlton
  81. Andrew Girdwood – @andrewgirdwood
  82. Joe Hall – @joehall
  83. Sean Gardner – @2morrowknight
  84. Will Francis – @willfrancis
  85. Matthew Howells-Barby – @matthewbarby
  86. Will Critchlow – @willcritchlow
  87. Jenny Halasz – @jennyhalasz
  88. Dorie Clark – @dorieclark
  89. Nick Westergaard – @nickwestergaard
  90. Angie Schottmuller – @aschottmuller
  91. Ashwini Dodani – @ashwinidodani
  92. Kent Lewis – @kentjlewis
  93. Dan Gingiss – @dgingiss
  94. Kevin Gibbons – @kevgibbo
  95. Christoph Trappe – @ctrappe
  96. Duane Forrester – @duaneforrester
  97. Hernán Rodríguez – @rodriguezhernan
  98. Scott Brinker – @chiefmartec
  99. Arnie Kuenn – @arniek
  100. Amber Naslund – @ambercadabra

Congratulations to everyone who made the top 100, keep up the good work!!

Let us know what industries you would like us to look at next in the comments below.

Latest from the blog