Top 100 FinTech Influencers according to BuzzSumo

We’ve used BuzzSumo’s influencer reports to find the top 100 FinTech influencers that you should be following in 2019.

You are reading: Top 100 FinTech Influencers according to BuzzSumo

What is FinTech?

FinTech, or financial technology, is the term used to describe any form of tech that aims to improve the delivery of financial services and solutions. These solutions vary massively from mobile devices and apps that help connect customers with their finances, to cryptocurrency and business-to-business technology. 

The concept of financial technology is nothing new, however, the term ‘FinTech’ was relatively unused until recent times. Businesses within the financial industry have always been looking for new ways to improve the services they provide and technology is more often than not the best way to do this. So although the concept has been around for years, the term ‘FinTech’ has only gained popularity in the past few years. 

What is BuzzSumo? 

Buzzsumo is a content research tool which identifies the most engaging pieces of content and key influencers for specific topics, industries, and domains. The platform has various tools such as its Content Analyzer, Facebook Analyzer, and Influencer Reports. For a detailed breakdown of all of the tools available check out our BuzzSumo guide, but for this research, we are just going to focus on the Influencer Reports. 

BuzzSumo influencer reports explained

Using BuzzSumo’s influencer tool you can pull together a list of the top influencers for a specific topic, niche, or domain. This list includes all individuals and companies within the specific industry that you have searched for, ranked by the ‘influence’ they have over that industry. From here you have the ability to filter this list to ensure that all of the data is relevant for your needs. Influencers can be filtered by type (company, journalist, blogger, etc.), location, activity level, and more.  

BuzzSumo measures influence using a number of different factors including the content an individual shares, engagement, and how relevant the content is to that topic. By combining all of these factors BuzzSumo ranks the influencers based on how likely they are to impact (influence) the reach of a piece of content. 

If you want more information on the influencer tool, we took a more in-depth look at how BuzzSumo’s influencer reports in our previous ‘Top 100 Influencers’ post. 

Key findings

Whilst carrying out this research, there were a few key statistics about the top 100 FinTech influencers that surprised me. Here are the top three takeaways when analysing BuzzSumo’s top 100 FinTech influencers:

Follower count

Firstly, the average number of followers of all 100 influencers is just over 16,000. While this is still a relatively large following it’s nothing in comparison to some of the biggest influencers and celebrities on social media. The majority (85%) of influencers who appear in the top 100 list have fewer than 30,000 followers. This further solidifies the idea that BuzzSumo’s influencer reports don’t just look at follow count but also consider engagement and the actual influence an individual has over their audience when compiling their reports. 

Replies

The second standout statistic is the fact that 44% reply to anywhere between 21% and 40%, and 13% of the influencers have a reply ratio over 50%. This indicates that these influencers are engaging with their audience and joining in with the global FinTech conversation on Twitter. When brands are looking for influencers to work with, knowing that they have a close connection with their followers and are interacting with them regularly should be key.

Retweet ratio

The final surprising statistic from this research came when looking into the retweet ratio – this is the number of posts on an individual’s feed that are retweets. Basically, how often they share and retweet other people’s content. 29 out of the top 100 have a retweet ratio higher than 40%, and only 16 have a retweet ratio lower than 10%. As is the case with the previous point, this further highlights the importance of engaging with your audience in order to establish yourself as an influencer. Again this is something that brands should consider when deciding on whether to embark on an influencer marketing campaign or not.

Now, without further ado, let’s take a look at the top 100 FinTech influencers according to BuzzSumo:

  1. Simon Taylor – @sytaylor
  2. Brett King – @brettking
  3. Alex Jiménez – @ralexjimenez
  4. Pascal Bouvier – @pascalbouvier
  5. Scarlett Sieber – @scarlettsieber
  6. JP Nicols – @jpnicols
  7. Faisal Khan – @babushka99
  8. David M. Brear – @davidbrear
  9. Devie Mohan – @devie_mohan
  10. James Wester – @jameswester
  11. Sebastien Meunier – @sbmeunier
  12. Fernando Egido Egaña – @fegido
  13. Florian Graillot – @fgraillot
  14. Theo Lau – @psb_dc
  15. Nick Hungerford – @nickhungerford
  16. Jill Castilla – @jillcastilla
  17. Bryan Clagett – @clagett
  18. David Gerbino – @dmgerbino
  19. Matteo Rizzi – @matteorizzi
  20. Haseeb Awan – @haseeb
  21. Ron Shevlin – @rshevlin
  22. David J. Maireles – @davidjmaireles
  23. Liz Lumley – @lizlum
  24. Lisa Kuhn Phillips – @lisakuhnphilips
  25. Jim Bruene – @netbanker
  26. Spiros Margaris – @spirosmargaris
  27. Amit Goel – @amittwitr
  28. Ian Kar – @iankar_
  29. Rob Findlay – @robfindlay
  30. Stessa Cohen – @stessacohen
  31. Matt Dooley – @mattldooley
  32. Jochen Siegert – @jochensiegert
  33. Marc Lussy – @marclussy
  34. Patricia Hines – @pjhines
  35. André M. Bajorat – @ambajorat
  36. Danielle Guzman – @guzmand
  37. Kristo Käärmann – @kaarmann
  38. April Rudin – @therudingroup
  39. Anna Irrera – @annairrera
  40. Nigel Walsh – @nigelwalsh
  41. Bradley Leimer – @leimer
  42. Tom Blomfield – @t_blom
  43. Horst Wilmes – @horstwilmes
  44. James Lloyd – @jamesplloyd
  45. Aaron Pressman – @ampressman
  46. Maria Aspan – @mariaaspan
  47. Yoni Assia – @yoniassia
  48. Dave Birch – @dgwbirch
  49. Omar Khan – @66owls
  50. Gabriela V. Orille – @gabrielaorille
  51. Tim Swanson – @ofnumbers
  52. Rob Moffat – @robmoff
  53. Jay Palter – @jaypalter
  54. Neira Jones – @neirajones
  55. Darrell MacMullin – @dmacmullin
  56. Duena Blomstrom – @duenablomstrom
  57. Per Lind – @pclind1
  58. Yann Ranchere –  @tek_fin
  59. Paul Mears – @paulmearsuk
  60. Ross Gerber – @gerberkawasaki
  61. Delphine Cuny – @delphinecuny
  62. Georgia Hanias – @georgiahanias
  63. Mike Tinmouth – @michaeltinmouth
  64. Jessica Ellerm – @jessicaellerm
  65. Katelin Cwieka – @banksmartkate
  66. Efi Pylarinou – @efipm
  67. Chris Doerfler – @cmdoerfler
  68. David Galbraith – @daveg
  69. Zack Miller – @newrulesinvest
  70. Sam Maule – @sammaule
  71. Maik Klotz – @klotzbrocken
  72. Rino Borini – @rinoborini
  73. Ian Renwood – @irenwood
  74. Matteo Gamba – @sliver86
  75. Olivier Goy – @oliviergoy
  76. Tobias Baumgarten – @aboutfintech
  77. Damir Bogdan – @damir_bogdan
  78. Dorota Zimnoch – @d_zimnoch
  79. Phil Allen – @philballen
  80. Jeff Tijssen – @jefftijssen
  81. Sven Korschinowski – @korschinowskisv
  82. Matthieu Soulé – @matthieusoule
  83. Silvan Schumacher – @silvanfox
  84. Helene Li – @helene_wpli
  85. Cédric Teissier – @echotraffic
  86. Kristian Feldborg – @k_feldborg
  87. CarrieAnne Cormier – @banksmartcarrie
  88. Derin Cag – @derincag
  89. Monica Jasuja – @jasuja
  90. Marc P. Bernegger – @marcpbernegger
  91. Sebastiaan Roest-Ellis – @sebfintech
  92. Tiffany Hayden – @haydentiff
  93. Dan Latimore – @danlatimore
  94. Curtis S. Chin – @curtisschin
  95. Mary Wisniewski – @marymwisniewski
  96. Mohammad Farooq – @mohammadfarooq_
  97. Jacob Jegher – @jjegher
  98. Gary Turner – @garyturner
  99. Brad van Leeuwen – @bradvanl
  100. Richard Gluyas – @gluyasr

Once again, congratulations to everyone who made the list!!

Let us know what other industries you want us to take a look into in the comments below.

Latest from the blog